arrow_downward
arrow_upward

The Collection

camera_alt 10 Years Benefit Party

Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc

camera_alt 08.09-04.12.22

About In the Womb of the Glass Ship

attach_file 08.09-04.12.22

Through the eyes of Silvia Franceschini

notifications 22.09.22, 19:00

Water & Ghostfriends by Castélie Yalombo

notifications 22.10.22, 20:00-00:00

Thomas Tilly

notifications 08.09-04.12.22

La Loge History

attach_file
arrow_forward_ios
arrow_back_ios

Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc

Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc explores areas often neglected by (post) colonial history through art, research, publishing, and programming. His work is characterised by a diversity of media (sound, video, text, drawing,sculpture, collections of objects) and deals with the concepts of oblivion andexploitation, as well as the violent nature of official narratives and archives. Drawing on social and natural sciences, the artist produces new narratives that lie between evidence and fiction.

For his new sound installation—produced in partnership with Thomas Tilly— he uses the work of Guyanese author Wilson Harris (1921-2018) and the text The Music of Living Landscapes as a starting point. Like a deciphering of the alphabet evoked by Harris, the exhibition ‘In the Womb of the Glass Ship’ offers a subjective and sensory understanding of knowledge, identity, and language.

The exhibition is coproduced by Centre d’Art Contemporain d’Ivry, Le Crédac (FR) where it will travel next year.

Wilson Harris & The Music of Living Landscapes

“The work of the Guyanese writer Wilson Harris (1921-2018), has taken a fundamental importance in the thematic, formal and conceptual directions of my plastic work in recent years. Since 2018, I have been able to speak (Towards a Vanguard Journalism, Dakar Biennale, 2018), conceive events (The Secret Ladder, Musée du Quai Branly, 2018 and The Music of Living Landscapes, Lafayette Anticipation, 2018), exhibitions (Palace of the Peacock, Musée départemental d’art contemporain, Rochechouart, 2018) or works addressing the work of Wilson Harris.” - Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc

Wilson Harris was first a surveyor and hydrographer for 17 years before devoting himself fully to literature. If he left Guyana for England at the age of 38, never to return, these years of wandering on the rivers of Guyana upstream to the depths of the Amazonian forests would leave a deep impression on him, and would give the formal and conceptual directions to his novels and theoretical texts.

Throughout his work, Wilson Harris has endeavoured to question Caribbean philosophical and literary traditions, while at the same time applying himself to constructing an imaginary that is specific to the geographical area of the Guyana Shield, which extends from Guyana to so-called French Guyana, including Suriname.

Biography

Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc was born in French Guyana. He lives and works in Sète (FR). Through a multifaceted approach that includes activities as an artist, researcher,curator and film programmer, Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc is committed to exploring areas neglected by colonial and post-colonial history. Absence, haunting and the representation of violence are all themes addressed in the artist’s work, which proceeds by extraction and excavation and works to reinscribe, in collective history, personalities and cultural materials that have been silenced. Often involving the collaboration of actors from various disciplinary fields and incorporating the production of drawings, films, slideshows and discursive devices, Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc’s practice is defined more particularly in terms of an interrogation, a weaving of affiliations and a reflection on the role of images in the formation of identity.

Recent solo exhibitions include, Gods Moving in Places. The Day Reader at IFA (Berlin, 2022), The Music of Living Landscapes at Kestner Gesellschaft (Hannover, 2022), Le palais du Paon at the Musée départemental d’art contemporain (Rochechouart, 2018), Concerning Solitude at the Jumex Foundation (Mexico City, 2018), Maintaining the Distance, at Guyane Art Factory (Cayenne, 2017), Mefloquine Dreams at MMK (Frankfurt, 2016), Songs For a Mad King, at Kunsthalle (Basel, 2013), Préface à des fusils pour Banta, at Gasworks (London, 2011). Among his recent group exhibitions, Le déracinement - On Diasporic Imaginations at Z33 (Hasselt, 2021), Rencontres Photographiques de Guyane ( St-Laurent du Maroni, 2019), Que fût 1848?, Frac Nord Pas-de- Calais (Dunkerque, 2018), Stories of Almost Everyone at Hammer Museum (Los Angeles, 2018), Jiwa, Jakarta Biennale (2017), Personne et les autres, Belgian Pavilion, 56th Venice Biennale - All the World’s Futures, (2015), Leiris&Co, Centre Pompidou-Metz, (2015), the 8th Berlin Biennale (2014). He was a resident at the French Academy in Rome - Villa Medici in 2016-2017, and a guest artist at the DAAD, Berlin for 2019. He is now a Phd candidate, EDESTA- Paris8. He also writes and co-edits books with the publishing house B42.

Images: Wacapou, le cimetière, 2017 Lambda print, 180x120cm ; Theoria Musicae, 1492, Franchino Gaffurio. Courtesy of the artist

arrow_downward
arrow_upward

The Collection

camera_alt 10 Years Benefit Party

Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc

camera_alt 08.09-04.12.22

Water & Ghostfriends de Castélie Yalombo

notifications 22.10.22, 20:00-00:00

On air Radio Panik

notifications 16.11, 12:00

Thomas Tilly

notifications 08.09-04.12.22
arrow_forward_ios
arrow_back_ios

Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc

Entre la pratique de l’art, de la recherche, de l’édition et de la programmation, Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc explore des domaines négligés par l'histoire (post)coloniale. Son oeuvre marquée par une diversité de médias aborde l’oubli, l’exploitation ainsi que la violence des récits officiels et des archives. L’artiste, qui s’inspire des sciences sociales et naturelles, produit ainsi de nouveaux récits, entre témoignage et fiction.

Pour sa nouvelle installation sonore, réalisée en partenariat avec Thomas Tilly, il prend pour point de départ l’oeuvre de l’auteur guyanais Wilson Harris et son texte The Music of Living Landscapes. Tel un déchiffrage de l’alphabet évoqué par Harris, l'exposition In the Womb of the Glass Ship propose une compréhension subjective et sensorielle des savoirs, des identités et du langage.

L'exposition est co-produite avec le Centre d’Art Contemporain d’Ivry, Le Crédac (FR) où elle sera présentée en 2023.

Wilson Harris & The Music of Living Landscapes
" L'œuvre de l'écrivain guyanais Wilson Harris (1921-2018), a pris une importance fondamentale dans les orientations thématiques, formelles et conceptuelles de mon travail plastique ces dernières années. Depuis 2018, j'ai pu intervenir (Towards a Vanguard Journalism, Dakar Biennale, 2018), concevoir des événements (The Secret Ladder, Musée du Quai Branly, 2018 and The Music of Living Landscapes, Lafayette Anticipation, 2018), des expositions (Palais du Paon, Musée départemental d'art contemporain, Rochechouart, 2018) ou des œuvres, en abordant l'œuvre de Wilson Harris." - Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc

Wilson Harris a d'abord été géomètre et hydrographe pendant 17 ans avant de se consacrer pleinement à la littérature. S'il quitte la Guyane pour l'Angleterre à l'âge de 38 ans pour ne jamais revenir, ces années d'errance sur les fleuves de Guyane jusqu'aux profondeurs des forêts amazoniennes le marqueront profondément et donneront les orientations formelles et conceptuelles de ses romans et textes théoriques.

Tout au long de son œuvre, Wilson Harris s'est attaché à interroger les traditions philosophiques et littéraires caribéennes, tout en s'appliquant à construire un imaginaire propre à la zone géographique du Bouclier guyanais, qui s'étend de la Guyane à la Guyane dite française, en passant par le Suriname.

Biographie

Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc vit et travaille à Sète (FR). Sa démarche multiforme se caractérise par des projets artistiques, la recherche, le commissariat d’exposition et la programmation de films et explore des domaines négligés par l’histoire coloniale et postcoloniale. L’absence, la hantise, la violence et leurs représentations sont autant de thèmes abordés dans le travail de l’artiste. Ce dernier procède par extraction et excavation et s’attache à réinscrire dans l’histoire collective, des personnalités et des matériaux culturels réduits au silence. Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc collabore avec des acteur.ices issu.e.s de divers champs disciplinaires et intègre la production de dessins, de films, de diaporamas et de dispositifs discursifs. Son oeuvre se dessine plus particulièrement en termes de questionnements, de tissages d’appartenances et de réflexions sur le rôle des images dans la formation des identités.

Parmi ses expositions personnelles récentes, on peut citer Gods Moving in Places. The Day Reader à l’IFA (Berlin, 2022), The Music of Living Landscapes à Kestner Gesellschaft (Hanovre, 2022), Le palais du Paon au Musée départemental d’art contemporain (Rochechouart, 2018), Concerning Solitude à la Fondation Jumex (Mexico, 2018), Maintenir la distance, à Guyane Art Factory (Cayenne, 2017), Mefloquine Dreams au MMK (Francfort, 2016), Songs For a Mad King, à la Kunsthalle (Bâle, 2013), Préface à des fusils pour Banta, à Gasworks (Londres, 2011). Parmi ses expositions collectives récentes, Le déracinement - On Diasporic Imaginations au Z33 (Hasselt, 2021), Rencontres Photographiques de Guyane ( St-Laurent du Maroni, 2019), Que fût 1848 ? , Frac Nord Pas-de-Calais (Dunkerque, 2018), Stories of Almost Everyone au Hammer Museum (Los Angeles, 2018), Jiwa, Biennale de Jakarta (2017), Personne et les autres, Pavillon belge, 56e Biennale de Venise - Tous les futurs du monde, (2015), Leiris&Co, Centre Pompidou- Metz, (2015), la 8e Biennale de Berlin (2014). Il a été résident à l’Académie de France à Rome - Villa Médicis en 2016-2017, et artiste invité au DAAD, Berlin pour 2019. Il est actuellement doctorant à l’EDESTA- Paris8. Il écrit et coédite également des livres avec la maison d’édition B42.

Images: Wacapou, le cimetière, 2017 Lambda print, 180x120cm ; Theoria Musicae, 1492, Franchino Gaffurio. Courtoisie de l'artiste