arrow_downward
arrow_upward

About Reclaiming Places

attach_file 01.05-03.07.21

Reclaiming Places

camera_alt 01.05-03.07.21

Ideas to Postpone the End of the World

notifications 23.06.21, 18:00

About A Common Breath

attach_file 10.03-03.04.21

A Common Breath. On-site

camera_alt 10.03-03.04.21

Part I: Foreground

videocam 10.03.21, 19:00

Part II: Territories

videocam 17.03.21, 19:00

Part III : Resistance

videocam 24.03.21, 19:00

Part IV: A Possible Toolkit

videocam 31.03.21, 19:30

Part I: Foreground

ONLINE EVENT
LIVE STREAMED ON THIS PAGE

PROGRAMME

10.03.21, 19:00

Live online screening of Moune Ô (2021) by Maxime Jean-Baptiste followed by a discussion between the artist and Malcolm Ferdinand.

This introductory chapter of A Common Breath brings together practices that feed a common ecosystem of thought and support the dismantling of the colonial gaze. In a new film commissioned by La Loge, Maxime Jean-Baptiste continues the research he started in Nou Voix (2018) concerning colonial memory, the Guyanese diaspora, and the staging of Black bodies. By questioning how “official” narratives are constructed, the film Moune Ô encourages a shift in perspective regarding the link between colonisation and extractivism. A discussion between the artist and Malcom Ferdinand, researcher, will further explore the film’s subject and the notion of a double, colonial and environmental fracture.

Biographies

Maxime Jean-Baptiste is a filmmaker based between Brussels and Paris. He was born and raised in the context of the Guyanese and Antillean diaspora diaspora in France, to a French mother and a Guyanese father. His interest as an artist is to dig inside the complexity of Western colonial history by detecting the survival of traumas from the past in the present. His audiovisual and performance work is focused on archives and forms of reenactment as a perspective to conceive a vivid and embodied memory. He graduated in Visual Arts [BA] at erg/école de recherche graphique, Brussels (BE) and in Media Arts [MA] at K.A.S.K. School of Arts, Ghent (BE), and participated in the SIC/SoundImageCulture program (2018-19). His audiovisual works have been shown at ISFF Oberhausen (DE), ISFF Clermont-Ferrand (FR), Kasseler DokFest (DE), Bamako Biennale (ML), Lisbon & Sintra Film Festival (PT), Athens Ethnographic Film Festival (GR), Bozar (BE), Sphinx Cinema (BE) among many others. His first film Nou voix (2018) was awarded the Jury Prize at Festival des Cinémas Différents et Expérimentaux de Paris (FR).

Malcom Ferdinand is an environmental engineer (University College London), doctor in political philosophy (University Paris-Diderot) and a researcher at the CNRS (IRISSO/Université Paris-Dauphine). His research, situated at the confluence of political philosophy, postcolonial theory, and political ecology, is focused on the Black Atlantic, particularly the Caribbean. He is the author of Une écologie décoloniale. Penser l’écologie depuis le monde caribéen.(Seuil, 2019), a work that explores the relationships between contemporary environmental issues through the prism of Western colonialism and slavery.

Moune Ô by Maxime Jean-Baptiste will be projected as part of the installation at La Loge from March 11th — March 13th.

arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Partie I: Foreground

videocam 10.03.21, 19:00

Partie II: Territories

videocam 17.03.21, 19:00

Partie III : Resistance

videocam 24.03.21, 19:00

Partie IV: A Possible Toolkit

videocam 31.03.21, 19:30

A Common Breath

notifications 10.03-03.04.21

Surviving New Land

slideshow 18.03-20.03.21

Occidente

slideshow 18.03-20.03.21

Voyage en la terre autrement dite

slideshow 18.03-20.03.21

Pawòl sé van

slideshow 25.03-27.03.21

A Common Breath. On-site

camera_alt 10.03-03.04.21

Partie I: Foreground

EVENEMENT EN LIVE STREAMING SUR CETTE PAGE

PROGRAMME

10.03.21, 19:00

Live streaming du film Moune Ô (2021) de Maxime Jean-Baptiste suivie d'une discussion entre Maxime Jean-Baptiste et Malcolm Ferdinand.

Avec ce chapitre introductif, A Common Breath propose la rencontre de pratiques contribuant à un même écosystème de pensée et à la remise en question du maintien du regard colonial. Pour le film commissionné par La Loge, Maxime Jean-Baptiste poursuit les réflexions menées dans son film Nou Voix (2018) sur la mémoire coloniale de la diaspora guyanaise et la mise en scène des corps noirs. En réinterrogeant la représentation de cette histoire, son film Moune Ô invite à un changement de perspective sur le lien entre colonisation et extractivisme. Suite à la projection, la discussion entre l’artiste et le chercheur Malcom Ferdinand étend le sujet du film autour des problématiques de la double fracture, coloniale et environnementale.

Biographies

Maxime Jean-Baptiste est un cinéaste basé entre Bruxelles et Paris. Né et ayant vécu dans le contexte de la diaspora guyano-antillaise en France, d'une mère française et d'un père guyanais, son intérêt en tant qu'artiste est de sonder la complexité de l'histoire coloniale occidentale en détectant la survivance de traumatismes du passé dans le présent. Son travail audiovisuel et performatif se focalise sur l'archive et la forme du reenactment, comme une perspective afin de concevoir une mémoire vivante portée par les corps et les voix. Il est diplômé en Arts Visuels (BA) à l’erg/École de recherche graphique à Bruxelles et en Media Arts (MA) au K.A.S.K. School of arts à Gand, et était participant au programme SIC / SoundImageCulture (2018-19). Son travail audiovisuel a été montré au ISFF Oberhausen, Kasseler DokFest en Allemagne, , ISFF Clermont-Ferrand en France, Bamako Biennal au Mali parmi de nombreux autres festivals et centres d'arts. Son premier film Nou voix (2018) a reçu le Prix du Jury lors du Festival des Cinémas Différents et Expérimentaux de Paris.

Malcom Ferdinand est ingénieur en environnement de University College London, docteur en philosophie politique de l’université Paris-Diderot et chercheur au CNRS (IRISSO/Université Paris-Dauphine). Situées au croisement de la philosophie politique, des théories postcoloniales et de l’écologie politique, ses recherches portent sur l’Atlantique Noir et principalement la Caraïbe. Il est l’auteur de Une écologie décoloniale. Penser l’écologie depuis le monde caribéen (Seuil, 2019), un ouvrage qui explore les relations entre les enjeux environnementaux contemporains à la lueur du passé colonial et esclavagiste de l’Occident.

Moune Ô de Maxime Jean-Baptiste sera ensuite visible dans l’installation à La Loge du 11 au 13 mars