arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Part I: Foreground

videocam 10.03.21, 19:00

Part II: Territories

videocam 17.03.21, 19:00

Part III : Resistance

videocam 24.03.21, 19:00

Part IV: A Possible Toolkit

videocam 31.03.21, 19:30

A Common Breath

notifications 10.03-03.04.21

Surviving New Land

slideshow 18.03-20.03.21

Occidente

slideshow 18.03-20.03.21

Journey to a Land Otherwise Known

slideshow 18.03-20.03.21

Pawòl sé van

slideshow 25.03-27.03.21

A Common Breath. On-site

camera_alt 10.03-03.04.21

Part II: Territories

ONLINE EVENT
LIVE STREAMED ON THIS PAGE

PROGRAMME

17.03.21, 19:00

Live online screening of Day in the Life (2020) by Karrabing Film Collective, followed by a discussion between Elizabeth Povinelli and Isabel Burr Raty.

The anthropologist Arturo Escobar defines territory as a polysemous area outlined by porous borders. It is a living space where cultural, agricultural, and ecological practices come together at the crossroads of nature and identity. It is a space that defines and allows self-assertion. Tinted by exoticism and fictions borne out of the collective imagination, how can territories scarred by colonial occupation reorganise themselves in order to keep a balanced exchange between humans and nonhumans? The moving images in the films screened in this second chapter provide new spaces for meeting and (re)building, for questioning mechanisms of appropriation and the occupation of territories.

Sequenced as five stereotypical daily moments, Day in the Life by Karrabing Film Collective deconstructs clichés around Aboriginal Australians commonly portrayed in the media. Using an atypical cinematic style that could be called “improvisational realism” (a mix of fiction and fact, realism and reality), the protagonists play out everyday obstacles faced by an indigenous family in order to satirize the systems of governance and extractivist capitalism of colonists, encountered as the day goes on.

Chilean-belgian artist Isabel Burr Raty is currently producing her second film Easter Island – the navel of the Earth and pursuing research around the indigenous Rapa Nui community. A conversation will be held between Isabel Burr Raty and Elizabeth A. Povinelli, researcher and member of Karrabing Film Collective. They will discuss the romantic and problematic vision of a harmonious union between indigenous peoples and nature, the impact of colonialism on how a territory is “lived in” and the effects uprooting has on knowledge.

Biographies

Isabel Burr Raty is an independent Chilean-Belgian filmmaker, performance artist, coach, teacher at erg, Brussels and former associated researcher at a.pass.be, exploring the ontological crack between the native and the engineered, between the unlicensed knowledge of the relocated and the official facts. In doing so, she aims to dig up chapters left out of history books, blur the limits between fiction/reality and re-think the memory of the future. Her artistic research interweaves new media with live/body art, proposing hybrid narratives and bio-autonomy practices, that play with synthetic magic and compose in situ sci-fi stories. Isabel Burr Raty has presented her works and collaborations in venues such as Beursschouwburg, Brussels (BE); Palais de Tokyo, Paris (FR); ISEA (HK), and Cultivamos Cultura (PT).

Karrabing Film Collective is an indigenous media group formed by approximately 30 members, most of whom are based in the Northern Territories of Australia. Initiated in 2008 as a form of grassroots activism, they approach filmmaking as a mode of self-organisation and a means of investigating contemporary social conditions of inequality. With their films and installations, the collective exposes the shadow and different shapes cast by colonial power and constant state interventions. Together they have invented a singular cinematic space to defend their identity, claim their rights and the power of their imagination. This takes the shape of a complex assemblage of practices and scales of relation: to the land, to geology, to ancestors, to human and nonhuman life, and to visual culture.

Elizabeth A. Povinelli is a critical theorist, filmmaker and Franz Boas Professor of Anthropology and Gender Studies at Columbia University where she has also been the Director of the Institute for Research on Women and Gender. Her critical writing has focused on developing a critical theory of late settler liberalism that would support an “anthropology of the otherwise”. With her indigenous colleagues in north Australia, she collaborated on six films, created as members of the Karrabing Film Collective. Her publications include Geontologies: A Requiem to Late Liberalism (2016), Economies of Abandonment: Social Belonging and Endurance in Late Liberalism (2011); The Empire of Love (2006).

Day in the Life (2020) by Karrabing Film Collective will be projected as part of the installation at La Loge from March 18th — March 20th

arrow_downward
arrow_upward

Partie I: Foreground

videocam 10.03.21, 19:00

Partie II: Territories

videocam 17.03.21, 19:00

Partie III : Resistance

videocam 24.03.21, 19:00

Partie IV: A Possible Toolkit

videocam 31.03.21, 19:30

A Common Breath

notifications 10.03-03.04.21

Surviving New Land

slideshow 18.03-20.03.21

Occidente

slideshow 18.03-20.03.21

Voyage en la terre autrement dite

slideshow 18.03-20.03.21

Pawòl sé van

slideshow 25.03-27.03.21

A Common Breath. On-site

camera_alt 10.03-03.04.21

Partie II: Territories

EVENEMENT EN LIGNE
LIVE STREAMING SUR CETTE PAGE

PROGRAMME

17.03.21, 19:00

Projection de Day in the Life (2020) de Karrabing Film Collective, suivie d’une discussion entre Elizabeth Povinelli et Isabel Burr Raty.

Selon la pensée de l’anthropologue Arturo Escobar, le territoire est polysémique et ses limites sont poreuses. C’est un lieu de vie où se croisent pratiques et permet un espace d’affirmation. Portés par l’exotisme et les fictions de l’imaginaire collectif, comment les territoires marqués par l’occupation coloniale s’organisent-ils pour garantir cet équilibre et les liens entre humains et non-humains ? Les images en mouvement des films présentés dans ce second chapitre déploient de nouveaux espaces de rencontres et de (re)construction interrogeant les mécanismes des mouvements d’appropriations des territoires.

Séquencé en cinq moments stéréotypés de la journée, Day in the Life (2020) de Karrabing Film Collective déjoue les clichés véhiculés par les médias sur les communautés aborigènes australiennes. À travers un style filmique atypique fait de réalisme improvisé (mélange de fiction et de faits, de réalisme et de réalité), les protagonistes dramatisent les obstacles ordinaires d’une famille indigène pour faire la satire des formes de gouvernance et du capitalisme extractivistes des colons rencontrés au long d’une journée.

En résonance avec son deuxième film en cours de production (Easter Island – the navel of the Earth) et ses recherches sur la communauté indigène des Rapa Nui, l’artiste Isabel Burr Raty s’entretient avec Elizabeth Povinelli, chercheuse et membre de Karrabing Film Collective. La rencontre de leurs méthodes et de leurs recherches aborde les travers de la vision romantique de l’unicité harmonieuse entre indigènes et nature, les conséquences du colonialisme sur ce qu’est « habiter » le territoire, les impacts du déracinement sur le savoir, et la responsabilité collective de la connaissance.

Biographies

Isabel Burr Raty est une cinéaste indépendante belgo-chilienne basée à Bruxelles. Elle est enseignante à l’erg (Bruxelles), performeuse, coach et anciennement chercheuse associée à a.pass.be. Dans sa pratique, elle explore la brèche ontologique entre l’autochtone et le technicien, entre la connaissance interdite et les faits officiels. Ainsi, elle exhume des chapitres dissimulés des livres d’histoire, elle brouille les limites entre fiction/réalité et repense la mémoire du futur. Sa pratique mêle les nouveaux médias à l’art vivant et corporel ; elle prend la forme de récits hybrides qui jouent avec la magie synthétique et composent des histoires de science-fiction in situ. Isabel a présenté ses travaux et ses collaborations dans des lieux tels que Beursschouwburg, Bruxelles (BE) ; Palais de Tokyo Paris (FR), ISEA (HK) et Cultivamos Cultura (PT).

Karrabing Film Collective est un groupe d’indigènes d’environ 30 membres, dont la plupart sont basés dans les Territoires du Nord de l’Australie. Initié originellement en 2008 comme une forme d’activisme, Karrabing Film Collective aborde la réalisation de films comme un mode d’auto-organisation et un moyen d’enquêter sur les conditions sociales contemporaines d’inégalité. Avec leurs films et installations, le collectif expose l’opacité des interventions étatiques et des différentes formes du pouvoir colonial. Ensemble, ils ont inventé un espace cinématographique singulier pour défendre leur identité, revendiquer leurs droits et la puissance de leur imagination. Celui-ci prend la forme d’un assemblage complexe de pratiques et d’échelles de relation : à la terre, à la géologie, aux ancêtres, à la vie humaine et non humaine, et à la culture visuelle.

Elizabeth A. Povinelli est une théoricienne critique, cinéaste et professeur d’anthropologie (Franz Boa) et d’études sur le genre à l’Université de Columbia où elle a également été directrice de l’Institut de recherche sur les femmes et le genre. Ses écrits se sont concentrés sur le développement d’une théorie critique du libéralisme du colonialisme tardif et d’une anthropologie de l’autre. Avec ses collègues indigènes du nord de l’Australie, elle a collaboré à six films, en tant que membre de Karrabing Film Collective. Parmi ses publications, citons Geontologies : A Requiem to Late Liberalism (2016), Economies of Abandonment : Social Belonging and Endurance in Late Liberalism (2011) ; The Empire of Love (2006).

Day in the Life de Karrabing Film Collective est visible dans l’installation à La Loge du 18 au 20 mars.**